The all-new 2009 Acura TSX sports sedan has earned the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) TOP SAFETY PICK and 5-Star safety ratings in all governmental crash tests performed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA*), Acura announced today. A 5-Star rating is NHTSA's highest safety rating and TOP SAFETY PICK is IIHS' top rating reserved only for vehicles that achieve GOOD ratings in all of its crash tests.

"With every Acura vehicle we build, passenger safety is paramount throughout the entire design process," said Dick Colliver, executive vice president of sales. "The all-new TSX combines strong power, excellent handling and compelling design."

The 2009 TSX received 5-Star ratings in NCAP frontal crash, SINCAP side crash and Rollover Resistance tests placing it in the top of its class. The TSX joins an elite group of vehicles-- including the 2009 Acura RL luxury performance sedan --that received top NHTSA ratings. The 2009 TSX also received the prestigious GOOD (the best possible) rating in IIHS Frontal Offset, Side Impact and Rear Crash Protection tests from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

Acura TSX (2009) - picture 1 of 6
Acura TSX (2009) - picture 2 of 6
Acura TSX (2009) - picture 3 of 6
Acura TSX (2009) - picture 4 of 6
Acura TSX (2009) - picture 5 of 6
Acura TSX (2009) - picture 6 of 6

The TSX's NHTSA and IIHS ratings are a direct result of Acura's "Safety Through Innovation" initiative that is based on the brand's commitment to leadership in safety. The initiative's goal is to provide a high level of occupant protection and injury mitigation to pedestrians in all Acura vehicles, as well as increased crash compatibility with other vehicles, regardless of size or price.

The 2009 TSX includes as standard equipment Acura's Advanced Compatibility Engineering™ (ACE™) front body structure along with a host of other standard safety equipment including Vehicle Stability Assist™, anti-lock braking system (ABS), dual-stage/dual-threshold front airbags, side airbags with passenger side Occupant Position Detection System, Active Front Head Restraints, an automatic tensioning system and load limiters for the front seatbelts, Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) and Daytime Running Lights (DRL).

Acura offers a full line of technologically advanced performance luxury vehicles through a network of 270 dealers within the United States. The 2009 Acura lineup features five distinctive models including the RL luxury performance sedan, the TL performance luxury sedan, the TSX sports sedan, the turbocharged RDX crossover SUV and the award-winning MDX luxury sport utility vehicle.